Swearing-in ceremonies took place for the 111th TN General Assembly on Tuesday, January 8 at noon (CST), on the House Floor of the Tennessee General Assembly at the State Capitol in Nashville.

TOP PHOTO:  L-R State Representative Dennis Powers, new Speaker of the House, Glen Casada, and Powers wife, Tracy Powers

Representative Dennis Powers was sworn in for a two-year term, and Representative Glen Casada was elected the new Speaker of the House for the next two years.  Both were sworn-in by the Chief Justice of the Tennessee Supreme Court, Jeffrey Bivins.

Powers represents the 36th district which encompasses Campbell County and parts of Union and Anderson Counties.

In 2010, Powers was first elected.  He has since been re-elected in 2012, 2014, 2016 and in November of 2018.  (WLAF NEWS PUBLISHED – 01/09/2019-6AM-PHOTOS COURTESY OF DENNIS POWERS)