JACKSBORO, TN (WLAF) -The first candidates have picked up their petitions for the 2020 county general election.

On Monday, five-time incumbent State Rep. Dennis Powers stopped by for his petition.  Dewayne Baird also requested a petition on Monday for property assessor.  Josh James, currently a school board member representing District 2, is moving to District 4 and picked up a petition to run in District 4.

Last week, in the county road superintendent race incumbent Ron Dilbeck has picked up his petition. Brandon Partin, the current property assessor, also picked up his petition to seek another term.
In the school board race, incumbents in the first, second and third districts have their petitions. Those incumbents are Lisa Fields, Brent Lester and Johnny Byrge respectively. As of late Friday afternoon candidates in the fourth and fifth districts had not yet picked up petitions.  County attorney Joe Coker also picked up his petition to run for another six year term.

The qualifying deadline is April 2 at noon with the withdrawal deadline April 9 at noon as well.
Early voting is slated for July 17 through Aug 1. The general election is Aug. 6.
The final day to register to vote in the county general election is July 7.
But before the local election takes place, Tennessee will hold its presidential primary on March 3. Early voting for the presidential primary starts Feb. 12 and is open until Feb. 25.
The presidential race will be decided on Nov. 3.
For more information on the races and registering to vote visit HERE.    (WLAF NEWS PUBLISHED- 2/10/2020-6AM-UPDATED 02/10/2020-3PM)