LAFOLLETTE, TN (WLAF) – Within 15 minutes Tuesday afternoon, the LaFollette City Council had completed the monthly meeting, renewed yearly beer permits, swore in a new mayor, voted in a new vice mayor, and swore in a new council member.

Phillip Farmer was sworn in as the new Mayor of LaFollette and will serve as mayor until the November 2022 election. Stephanie Grimm Solomon was voted in as vice-mayor and chairwoman of the beer board. Councilman Wayne Kitts nominated Bryan St. John to fill the open council seat. All members voted yes.

Phillip Farmer was sworn in Tuesday afternoon as Mayor of La Follette. City Administrator Stan Foust swears in Farmer.

The railroad crossings at Brantley Lane, behind Fire Station 2, and Gibson Lane, beside Lyk-Nu, have been discussed in previous council meetings, and the council agreed to move forward with the projects. A contract with Cannon and Cannon for the Cherry Street project was approved.

Five resolutions were approved, Resolution 2021-24 declaring a vacancy on council due to ouster action against former Mayor Mike Stanfield and Resolution 2021-23 declaring a vacancy on council due to Vice Mayor Phillip Farmer becoming mayor. Resolution 2021-22 was approved for administrative services for Community Development Partners and Resolution 2021-21 for engineering services for FM and Associates. Both resolutions are for the ARPA Water/Wastewater Funds. The final Resolution 2021-20 is for amending the 2021-22 budget for the Cherry Street project.

City Administrator Stan Foust swears in Bryan St. John to city council.

Beer permits renewed in the Beer Board meeting were C & M Worldwide, LLC, Campbell Tobacco and Beer, China Town Café, Corner Market, CVS Pharmacy, Dollar Corp/Dollar General Store, El Pueblito, El Charo’s, Food City, Food Lion, GPM Southeast/Bread Box, Los Rifles LLC, Red Roof Market, Murphy Oil, Ninja Habachi, Quick Shop, Quick Stop, Shell Gas Station, The Back Door, Tobacco Mercantile, Walgreen’s and Weigel’s. (WLAF NEWS PUBLISHED – 12/08/2021-6AM)