TOP PHOTO: The community turned out Monday night to honor Campbell Football Seniors and the 2022 Cougar Football Season.

Cougars representing Campbell on the All-Region Team are (left to right front row) Landen Hensley, Gavin Owens, Luke Carroll, Peyton Ferguson, Storm Webb and Ben Russell. (Back row, left to right) Mason Shanks, Eli Dorton, Devon Jones, Ethan Miller, Will Lester, Caleb Muncy and Ethan Johnson.

By Charlotte Underwood 

LAFOLLETTE, TN (WLAF) – A crowd gathered at the Ball Farm Event Center last night to celebrate the 2022 Cougar Football season with its annual banquet.  

Players, coaches, cheerleaders, trainers, support staff, along with community supporters and individuals were honored throughout the night. 

A crowd gathered at the Ball Farm Event Center Monday night to celebrate the 2022 Cougar Football season with its annual banquet.

Awards were handed out and special recognition given to everyone that helped make Cougar Football possible, including the dance team and the band.

Cougar Head Football Coach Justin Price said a special thanks to the program’s “All-In” Sponsors some of which included Peoples Bank of the South, Ellison Supply, The Greens at Deerfield, LaFollette Utility Board, Norris Lake Insurance, Jeff Lobertini, Pyro Shows, Byrge Screen Printing and several others.

Campbell County Football coaches thank Campbell County School Director Dr. Jennifer Fields at Monday’s Football banquet.

Price also said he wanted to recognize the school system, the central office and the school board for their support, as well as Josh Parker and Olivia Lobertini.

The coaching staff was recognized as well, along with Campbell County High School Athletic Director Matt Price.

“We have a really amazing coaching staff. They sacrifice a lot to make this program successful,” Price said. 

Football players were recognized in each grade, receiving t-shirts, hats and plaques.

All-State Receiver Devon Jones and mom Sheriva Jones Campbell enjoyed Monday night’s banquet honoring the 2022 Campbell football season.

Special recognition was given to the exiting senior class. 

“This is a special group of kids, and they’re going to go on and do wonderful things,” Justin Price said.

Before the evening’s close, team awards were handed out.

Eli Dorton and Luke Carroll won Rookie of the Year.

Luke Lindsey took home the “Do Your Job” Award.

Ben Russell took home “Most Improved”, while Blake Roberts won the “All-In” Award. 

Warren Kitts “Mr. Cougar” and Dewayne “Mailman” Kitts were honored at Monday’s Cougar Football banquet.

All-Region Team players included: 

Luke Carroll

Ethan Miller

Caleb Muncy

Eli Dorton 

Gavin Owens

Peyton Ferguson 

Storm Webb

Mason Shanks

Will Lester

Selected as Newcomer of the Year: Landen Hensley 

Wide Receiver of the Year: Devon Jones

Jones was also selected to the All-Prep team as well.

“Anytime a player is named to this it’s something to be proud of,” Price said.

Exiting Cougar seniors were honored at Monday’s football banquet at the Ball Farm Event Center.

Recognized as Honorable Mention All-Region players were:

Mikey Albright 

Ethan Johnson 

Ben Russell

Jamal Wright

Kaden King

Keegan Cowin

Two players were also named to All-State; these are 5-A All-State Quarterback Landen Hensley and 5-A All-State Receiver Devon Jones. 

“These individual awards are a representation of the individual and the team. Be proud of what they represent; they represent our community” Price said. (WLAF NEWS PUBLISHED – 01/31/2023-6AM)