LAFOLLETTE, TN (WLAF) –It was a flurry of phone calls and emails the first 90 minutes in on Friday morning. Before 7am, the list of 64 names filled up. Those names will be matched with teams on Monday morning live over WLAF Radio. Thanks to all of you who are playing along and to all those who tried even though the list was full.

Here’s who WLAF will match up with a team come Monday morning:

Joe “Pie” Smith

Amanda Whited

Jared Cantrell

Ann Love

Mark Honaker

Delain Williams

Michael Heatherly

Jeremy Dorton

Katie Campbell

Barry Byrd

Jeff Norton

Jerry Cantrell, Sr.

Bill Berry

Rusty Fields

Lyndon Vinsant

Ron Heatherly

Paula Farmer

John Perkins

Sandra Whited

Bobby Smith

Jason Sheets

Justin Wilson

Linda Berry

Mike Green

Cindy Honaker

George Bolinger

Leon Caldwell

Ben Franklin

Margie Cox

Lindon McKamey

Gary Carroll

Sandy Burress

Dennis O’Rourke

Bo Thompson

Tony Fraley

Mark Chapman

Timothy Cox

Megan Smith

Darrell North

Pam Fields

Greg Cox

Blake Gibson

Allan Robbins

Lonnie Phillps

Karen Smith

Jimmy Wilson

Brenda Cantrell

Clyde Brantley

Maxine Weaver

Becky Reynolds

Jerry Cantrell, Jr.

Ashley Cox

Jennifer Robbins

Darlene Chapman

Brenda Wilson

Michael Sharp

Sharon Storey

Mark Sammons

Monty Bullock

Jason Freeman

Leon Caldwell

Greg Weaver

Jeff Bond

Amanda Cox

It’ll be a mad scramble, more than usual, for three hours come Friday morning around WLAF. From 5:30am until 8:30am or until the list is full Friday, qualifiers can call (423.562.1450) or email to play along in the annual “WLAF Final Four Fun Run.” Cash prizes will be awarded to those who have a team make it to the Final Four.

Selection Sunday is this Sunday for the men’s NCAA Basketball Tournament.  So, starting at 5:30 am Friday morning, WLAF is taking your phone calls at 423.562.1450 and emails to (please include your phone number) to enter your name in the fun run. 

However, there are two honorary qualifiers already on the list; Leon “Swish” Caldwell and Monty Bullock.  Swish qualifies because he’s the oldest former La Follette Owl to participate, and Bullock will only qualify if his favorite team, the Prairie View Panthers, make the tourney.

In 2022, it came down to Maxine Weaver (Kansas) and Amanda Whited (North Carolina) in the championship game, and Maxine’s Jayhawks claimed the crown 72-69. It was the biggest comeback in title history.

On Monday, WLAF’s Big Josh and Jim will randomly pull the names of the 64 qualifiers and then randomly select an NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament team for each name.  

Good luck and have fun! (WLAF NEWS PUBLISHED 03/10/2023-6AM)