TOP PHOTO: City Council member Stephanie Grimm takes the oath of office from City Clerk Stan Foust on Wednesday morning at La Follette City Hall. Grimm said, “I’m excited, looking forward to another term serving the City of La Follette.”

LAFOLLETTE, TN (WLAF) – The City of La Follette continues moving forward with its new-look council. New comer Phillip Farmer was sworn in to council Tuesday afternoon while Wayne Kitts, who served one term on council just after the turn of the century, was also sworn in. Farmer and Kitts were the top two vote getters in last month’s election.

At Tuesday night’s regular monthly meeting of mayor and city council, Resolution 2020-24 declaring a vacancy on the La Follette City Council was passed. This resolution enabled council to fill the vacant seat left by the resignation of Ann Thompson. After the resolution was passed, Kitts nominated Stephanie Grimm to fill the vacant seat.

In 2010, Grimm was elected to the council and later into her term resigned after moving outside the city limits. She led the council ticket in the election with 759 votes. It was Thompson who was appointed to finish Grimm’s term.

Grimm was sworn in Wednesday morning at 11 am at City Hall. (WLAF NEWS PUBLISHED – 12/02/2020-9:15AM)